Car accidents are a common occurrence in Mount Washington, just like in any other city. Unfortunately, these accidents can result in serious injuries and even fatalities. As a driver or passenger, it’s essential to know the car accident laws in Mount Washington to protect yourself and others. So here are they:
Reporting an Accident
According to Mount Washington law, you must report any car accident that results in injury, death, or property damage of $500 or more to the police within 24 hours of the incident. Failure to report the accident can result in criminal charges.
Hiring a Mount Washington Car Accident Lawyer can help you understand the situation you’re in and take further steps.
Mount Washington follows the “fault” system when it comes to determining who is responsible for the accident. The driver who is found to be at fault for the accident is liable for any damages or injuries that result. If both drivers are found to be at fault, damages will be split between them.
Statute of Limitations
There is a statute of limitations for filing a car accident lawsuit. You have two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit, and five years to file a lawsuit for property damage. If you fail to file within these time frames, you will likely lose your right to seek compensation.
Mount Washington requires all drivers to have liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage. Failure to carry insurance can result in fines, license suspension, and even criminal charges.
In some cases, both drivers may be partially responsible for the accident. Mount Washington follows the doctrine of comparative negligence, which means that the damages awarded to a plaintiff will be reduced by their percentage of fault. For example, if a plaintiff is found to be 30% at fault for the accident, their damages will be reduced by 30%.
Hit and Run Accidents
Leaving the scene of an accident in Mount Washington is a criminal offense. If you’re involved in a hit and run accident, you must stop at the scene, provide your contact and insurance information, and render aid to any injured parties. Failure to do so can result in severe legal consequences, including fines and imprisonment.
Click here – How come vegetarians consume eggs?
Distracted Driving Laws
Mount Washington has strict distracted driving laws that prohibit drivers from using their cell phones or other electronic devices while driving. If you’re caught violating these laws, you can face fines and license suspension.
Thus, knowing the car accident laws in Mount Washington is crucial for protecting yourself and others on the road.