Home entertainment Top 9 Books Like Ready Player One To Read
books like ready player one

Top 9 Books Like Ready Player One To Read

by Payal Pedkar

Do you want to read more books like ready player one? In this article, I will tell about amazing books like ready player one that you must read. This sci-fi novel is filled with intense drama, action, and adventure. I know you must be waiting for the next part to get released. Till then you can try these books like the ready player one which I have mentioned below. I am sure that you will love all of these books and read them till the end.

List Of Top 9 Books Like Ready Player One To Read

In this portion, I will just reveal the names of the books like ready player one that you can consider reading. I can assure you that you will have a good long reading session with these books.

  1. Warcross By Marie Lu 
  2. Snow Crash By Neal Stephenson
  3. Armada By Ernest Cline
  4. Arena By Holly Jennings
  5. The Impossible Fortress By Jason Rekulak
  6. One Con Glory By Sarah Kuhn
  7. Insignia By S.J. Kincaid
  8. The Lives Of Tao By Wesley Chu
  9. Ender’s Game By Orson Scott Card

 Top 9 Books Like Ready Player One

Now, you are aware of the names of all the books like ready player one. Now, I will give you a brief introduction to the themes and plots of these exciting books.

  1. Warcross By Marie Lu

ready player one books like

Ready player one books like Warcross by Marie lu is a science fiction novel. The story centers on an 18-year-old girl named Emika who loves gaming. She lost her father at an early age and was expelled from the school. To make her living and to escape her hardships she became a bounty hunter. She used to track down the crimes such as gambling, related to the Warcross game.

During an international Warcross Championships, Emika accidentally glitches into the game which makes her an overnight sensation. Later she is offered a job by the makers of the game. You must read this novel to know what surprise changes will it bring in Emika’s life.

  • Author: Marie Lu
  • Language: English
  • Series: Warcross
  • Genre: Science fiction
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
  • Release Date: 12 September 2017
  1. Snow Crash By Neal Stephenson

audio books like ready player one

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson has the best audio books like ready player one. The novel revolves around Hiro who is a normal pizza delivery boy in the real world. In the metaverse world, he is a warrior prince and a hacker.

One day he meets up with a Y.T skateboard courier and they come into a partnership. Hiro also gets a data file called Snowcrash and he soon establishes a connection to Sumerian culture and the tower of Babylon. What will happen next and what consequences will Hiro face? I suggest you read this book which is included in the books like ready player one to know answers to all your burning questions.

  • Author: Neal Stephenson
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science fiction, Cyberpunk, Postcyberpunk
  • Publisher: Bantam Books (US)
  • Release Date: June 1992
  1. Armada By Ernest Cline

books to read if you like ready player one

Armada by Ernest Cline is among the best books like ready player one. The main character of the story is Zack Lightman. One fine day he was looking outside the window when he saw a ship that looked exactly like a ship from the video game Armada.

Then, he went to his miss father’s room and found some clues regarding the game. He doubts the fact that Armada isn’t just a game but a preparation for the true alien invasion. How will Zack along with his friends save the world? You must read this one of the books like ready player one as it is also packed with humor, drama, and action that you will love.

  • Author: Ernest Cline
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Science fiction
  • Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
  • Release Date: 14 July 2015
  1. Arena By Holly Jennings

sci fi game books like ready player one

Arena by Holly Jennings is included in sci-fi game books like ready player one. The plot is based on the future and the lead of the story is Kali who competes in virtual RAGE tournaments where the gamers have a digital life. She became the first female captain in the game history but has to face many troubles.

As the game progresses her lover and teammate die from a drug overdose. Kali is helpless and finds it difficult to cope with the game with the new teammates. I encourage you to read this book like ready player one as it highlights some real-world issues which are important to address these days.

  • Author: Holly Jennings
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Romance, Science fiction, Adventure, Dystopia
  • Publisher: Ace publications
  • Release Date: 1 November 2016
  1. The Impossible Fortress By Jason Rekulak

books like ready player one

The Impossible Fortress is counted under thrilling books like ready player one as it also shows the craziness of gaming. The novel centers on a 14-year-old Billy who loves the Playboy issue and computer gaming. He and his two mates decide to steal the playboy issue from a convenience store.

There Billy happens to meet the store owner’s daughter named Mary. She also turns out to be a lover of the gaming world. This common interest draws Billy and Mary close to each other. You can read the Impossible fortress or get audio books like ready player one for this book as well.

  • Author: Jason Rekulak
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Humour, Coming of age story, Adventure fiction
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Release Date: 7 February 2017
  1. One Con Glory By Sarah Kuhn

best audio books like ready player one

One Con Glory by Sarah Kuhn is one of the books similar to ready player one. The main lead of the story is Julie and a die-hard Buffy fan. She loves the 80s action heroine named ‘Glory Con’ and she always dreamt of becoming like her. Once she gets an opportunity to become like her in the gaming world she is ready to grab it.

Julie is a geeky girl and in the gaming world dominated by men, it is not going to be easy for her. You will get to experience lots of unexpected twists and turns in this book. I can guarantee that you will laugh and cry with Julie as the story progresses so you must go through this book. You can also get the best audio books like ready player one for One Con Glory as well.

  • Author: Sarah Kuhn
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Publisher: Alert Nerd Press
  • Release Date: 3 August 2010
  1. Insignia By S.J. Kincaid

books similar ready player one

Insignia by S.J. Kincaid is one of the sci fi game books like ready one player. The story is quite relatable to the real lives of teenagers. The main character of the story is a teenager named Tom Raines and he is recruited to train for combat forces.

Tom is a weak and skinny teenager and doesn’t find himself fit in the world. He finds the gaming world comfortable and discovers that his gaming skills are perfect for combat. You will love the world of Insignia if you also find yourself socially awkward and out of the place. I highly recommend you to read this book like ready one player for pleasure and fun.

  • Author: S.J. Kincaid
  • Language: English
  • Series: Insignia Trilogy
  • Genre: Young adult, Sci-fi, Fantasy
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Release Date: 2012-2014
  1. The Lives Of Tao By Wesley Chu

books similar to ready player one

If you are thinking about what to read after ready player one? Then, the lives of Tao by Wesley Chu is the answer. The story centers on an IT technician Roen who thinks he is losing his mind as he is listening to strange voices in his head.

An alien has landed in his head named Tao whose race struck earth million years ago. Tao wants the help of the Roen as the aliens are now divided into Prophus and Genjix and are having a civil war. Will Roen be able to understand Tao? Do you think he will help him out? To know all these answers I refer you this one of the best books like ready one player to you.

  • Author: Wesley Chu
  • Language: English
  • Series: Tao Series
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Publisher: Angry Robot publications
  • Release Date: 30 April 2013
  1. Ender’s Game By Orson Scott Card

ready player one similar books

Ender’s Game will take you to the futuristic earth when the humans are attacked by the aliens. In the last war humans were defeated by the aliens called Buggers but this time they won’t let it happen again. An orbiting battle school is created for training military prodigies to help win the war.

Andrew ‘‘Ender” Wiggins also joins the school but is harassed by his fellow beings and feels isolated. Little does Ender know that he is a rare child and has special powers to defeat Buggers. But will he able to come out of all this chaos and help humanity? You must read Ender’s game one of the similar books like ready player one to know more.

  • Author: Orson Scott Card
  • Language: English
  • Series: Ender’s Game series
  • Genre: Science ficiton
  • Publisher: Tor Books
  • Release Date: 15 January 1985

FAQ

What Age Group Is Ready Player One For?

The ready-player one book is suitable for 13 years and above age. The book is about the virtual reality world that is under the threat and how teenagers and adults come together to save it.

Is Armada A Sequel To Ready Player One?

No,  Armada is not a sequel to Ready Player One however it is written by the same author Ernest Cline. The sequel to Ready player one is Ready player two released on 24 November 2020.

What Should I Read If I Like Ready Player One?

The name of ready player one similar books which you can read if you liked ready player one are given below

  • One Con Glory by Sarah Kuhn
  • Insignia by S.J. Kincaid
  • The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
  • Snow Crash By Neal Stephenson
  • Armada by Ernest Cline
  • Arena by Holly Jennings
  • The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

Conclusion

Reading is a good habit and you should always try to maintain it. Here in this article, I have mentioned some of the best books like ready player one that are worth reading. I can assure you that you won’t realize how your time will pass when you start reading these books. I have also given information on the basic themes of these books. I have also included the author and the publication name for your reference. You can thank me later and enjoy these awesome books like ready player one in your next reading session.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment